A New Community

Young adults serve in the spirit of accompaniment, walking alongside global companions in a manner that practices mutuality, interdependence and solidarity.

– ELCA Young Adults in Global Mission

 

I have now been in Senegal for two weeks. I have observed and participated in the exchange of Arabic, French, and Wolof greetings with neighbors, language teachers, security guards, and shopkeepers. Our group attended church at the Dakar Parish of the Lutheran Church of Senegal last Sunday. Despite little French or Serere understanding we shook hands with and greeted every member of the small congregation before church. Later in the week our group visited a hardware shop where Pastor Kristin made a point to mention that she visits this hardware shop because one of her coworkers is friends with the owner. Through experiences of daily life in Senegal the greetings and ensuing relationships you have appear quite important to this hospitable place. I have become more aware of why thanks to an afternoon of orientation at a cultural center in Dakar (I must disclose there were fewer games than at college orientation- the silver lining in this case was definitely the Senegalese meal).

Mbokk in Wolof (the dominant local language in Senegal) refers to a person’s relatives, although this encompasses more than blood relatives. Everyone in your community is Mbokk – that is not just your family or close friends, but your surrounding neighborhood, faith community, and friends of friends as well. These are people you include in wedding and funeral invitations and other significant events in your life (unlike many literal “family members” of the US who are carefully avoided). There is no mushy “love your neighbor” language encouraging you to reach out to others, as Mbokk is an intrinsic component of Senegalese culture. Essentially your Mbokk has got your back.

I have been seeing the concept of Mbokk surface as my Senegal journey became more real. I first thought of Senegal as a distinct piece of Africa last year when one of my roommates mentioned a trip to see family and their destinations in-country. As I applied to various gap-year programs and made an effort to learn more about communities around the world I was connected with family, friends, professors, and members of my synod that spent time in Senegal among other places. Conversations about my future home base continued to be even more valuable as my living space has changed a handful of times since my parents’ move last summer. When it was determined that I would be going to Senegal a sense of closure arrived as I had a destination to look towards and friends to learn from. As I look back to the process that led to my involvement with YAGM I realize how my Mbokk has grown. Before I left I was able to say goodbye to family, friends, and my faith communities that formed me and led me to the decision to participate in YAGM.

Proceeding through the application to YAGM and navigating the different interviews and events of YAGM itself has also expanded my community. I have made new friends through the placement event in April in Chicago, and YAGM orientation this August before my departure. As a self-proclaimed introvert (I thank my college education for this liberating identity), alone time is a place where I have time to find myself and recharge. During the country selection event in April and even during orientation mid-August in Chicago I found myself pushed to spend time with others and engage in the motivated, fun group of young adults around me. Finding myself in this position frequently, I pushed through my discomfort and into a chance to hear from others. As I listened I heard words of understanding and many of my own thoughts as others shared my concerns about a year in an unfamiliar context.

 

The central tenet of YAGM is that of accompaniment. As I meet others and enter new social circles throughout the year I anticipate that how I value and perceive my Mbokk will change. These will be the people I look to next door for strength in times of weakness and across the globe to join in happy family moments. As I contemplate the time before me and what a new community means I know that I will need to be intentional about the choices I make, whether that is starting a conversation or making purchases at the hardware store.

Leave a comment